Inspiring Companies

24 06 2010

You can also get an audio version of this podcast here: Listen!

As a consumer I constantly look out for businesses that are distinctive, that offer value for money, that deliver great products and great customer service.

As a Business Designer I constantly look out for great companies as sources of inspiration, across all types of sectors, and use these as best-in-class examples to learn from.

Often these two coincide – I find businesses that really make me happy for some reason and I share these with friends and family when they ask for word-of-mouth recommendations; but I also share them with my clients and use the things that make them unique to help create a vision of what clients could be doing for their own customers.

Increasingly I find myself drawn to Authentic Businesses i.e. those who focus on long-term sustainability and display a true sense of purpose, respect their stakeholder needs, act with integrity, are distinctive in their market, and are environmentally conscious.

I have started to develop a list of these inspiring and authentic companies, and you can take a look at the blog-roll on the right where you can link straight through to their websites. If you search the web about any of them you will probably find other interesting comments and articles and video’s about them too.

Finally, I am constantly on the look out for more Inspiring Companies to learn from and so invite you to leave a comment and share your own sources of happiness and inspiration if you think they deserve mentioning…

James Rock

MD & Chief Business Designer – CULTIVAR Consulting

Partner – Authenticis

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 06 2010
Nick Gall

Zappos and Netflix.

25 06 2010
cultivar

Thanks Nick, I will check these companies out… Why do you think they are “Inspiring” – what is it about them that makes them companies you would recommend?

James

5 11 2010
Gavan

Hi

I think what we do at http://www.thedaythat.co.uk is pretty Inspiring. Our customers do and we pride our selves on our customer care by listening to what they want/need and adapting.

Hope you like what we do.

Gavan

2 04 2011
Rebecca Kimber

James, I happened upon your post through a twitter link and have to say I absolutely agree. We’re maybe not of the size of some of the other companies you have in your list there but I believe Create shares many of their qualities.

Leave a Reply

